web analytics

Colorado Child Custody Laws Moving Out State

Hello. I am Dale Dahlin, an attorney in Lincoln Nebraska. I have over 35 years of experience in practicing law. I would like to talk to you today about getting a divorce in Nebraska. There are several requirements, the first is that at least one of the parties must reside in Nebraska for at least one year prior to filing the divorce.A divorce has started by filing a complaint that complies with these statutes of the state of Nebraska. There is also a filing fee required. After the complaint has been filed the.

Other party or the spouse needs to be served. This can be done by them signing and filing a voluntary appearance or having the sheriff serve them with the summons and a copy of the complaint. After that they are 30 days to answer that complaint. The divorce involves the division of assets and debts of the party and possibly alimony. If there’s retirement accounts involved that need to be divided, a qualified domestic relations order is often necessary to divide those without there being tax implications. If there’s children involved there’s other issues such as.

Custody. There’s legal custody and physical custody. Legal custody involves making the decisions regarding the children. Physical custody is where the children reside. Either of those can be joint or sole custody. Child support is awarded in accordance with the guidelines that take into account the income of the parties and the number of children. A written parenting plan is prepared and submitted regarding the children. A hearing, to the court, a court hearing or a trial will be necessary to obtain the divorce. If there is agreement reached, a written settlement agreement.

Divorce Proceedures in Nebraska

Leave a Reply